Just Read It

No need to add my two cents to the Michael Jackson thing when so many others in the jazz community have posted excellent remembrances.

The one thing I will say, though, is that I was born after the release of Thriller and grew up without MTV.  I did see Captain EO at Disneyland a few times but that was about it.  I didn’t really get into MJ until college, when my band covered Thriller for a Halloween party.  This was a full two decades after its original release, and it still made the crowd go crazy.  Like those to whom I linked above, I’m confident that his musical legacy will outlive the tabloid craziness that has consumed his life, at least since I’ve been paying attention.

About arodjazz

Writer, trombonist, and PhD Candidate in Ethnomusicology exploring the complexity of today's jazz world
This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

