You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 21, 2013.

Image

In MLK Days past, I have shared a famous quote that outlines Martin Luther King, Jr.’s love of jazz, a passage that has been something of a mantra for me ever since I first came across it in 2009.

Today, I’ve linked to it again but also want to share another, perhaps less-well-known quotation that ought to resonate with what jazz can mean for our continued struggle against racism in the United States and around the world.

I first got hip to this quote via the prolific and oftentimes hilarious antiracist advocate John Randolph, aka Jay Smooth. Here’s his video of ten OTHER things MLK said:  Read the rest of this entry »

Subscribe by e-mail

Twitter Updates

  • RT @ClintSmithIII: Also, under Wilson's tenure the U.S. passed the Espionage Act of 1917 and the Sedition Act of 1918, dismantling American… 3 hours ago
  • RT @ClintSmithIII: What we forget is that Wilson segregated in Navy, which had not previously been segregated and sabotaged black newspaper… 3 hours ago
  • .@ClintSmithIII I went to Woodrow Wilson HS ... when I learned about him in my US History class I was shocked his name could be on the bldg 3 hours ago
  • Looking forward to reading this: Jazz Diasporas: Race, Music, and Migration in Post-World War II Paris amazon.com/dp/0520279352/… 1 day ago
  • RT @solobasssteve: I'm less concerned about Google losing their old logo than I am them losing their "do no evil" ethos. That's not fixed b… 1 day ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,706 other followers